Hello Gumbo!

Cooking in Sens

IMG_0268b

We’ve never used our downstairs bathroom because it has always been unusable.

IMG_0183b

Not just dirty but originally constructed, decades ago, with poor, cheap materials not meant to last more than a couple of years.  And they didn’t.

IMG_0189b

Today Steve DeVeau, French-Canadian and master remodeler stripped the bathroom down to 4 walls and I made gumbo.  I had a lot more fun than he did 😀

IMG_0178b

I snipped a few of the last branches of my fresh thyme and decided to go with a mix of peppercorns for the stock because I like the colors of mixed peppercorns.

IMG_0166b

I found some premixed Emeril’s Essence in the pantry and sprinkled 6 enormous chicken thighs with it before browning.  I don’t think I’ll ever buy the premix again.  It’s easy to make your own and you can adjust the quantities of ingredients to taste.  In addition, it stores well.

IMG_0213b

The idea of gumbo came…

View original post 329 more words

Leave a Reply

